Week 2: Snapping it up!

Well this week was filled with the joys of rain, strong winds and dull, dull days. If I was a professional photographer these elements could be a dream opportunity to take photos, sadly since  I do not have all of the acquired skills, for me it was more about trying not to slip while trying to work out all of the features on my camera. What did I discover? My camera really does not have many features for me to use, but I did my best and truly enjoyed myself!

The first photo I took is to indicate the rule of thirds, the main focus being the waterfall which lies within the upper to middle portion of the photo.The rule of thirds is when important elements are considered in composition terms following nine boxes forming a grid. While sometimes the main element in a photograph is not positioned in the centre of the “grid” I feel it works well for this photograph. It is in the middle-ground of the image which allows the viewer to take in all of the elements around the waterfall.

The second set of photos that you see here are to show my understanding of aperture, this is the control of the amount of light through the opening of the lens of the camera that determines the focus elements of a photo. In other words it determines the depth of field within a photograph.

As you can see in the first photo the depth of field is shallow compared to the second photo in which you can see the clouds. While the second picture is darker than the first I like the fact that you can see the different features within the photo.

Unfortunately I have not been able to demonstrate shutter speed as I do not have the ability to change this on my camera but I can show you what happens if you do not have this feature. The shutter speed is the part of a camera that determines the focus of moving elements in a photograph, for instance if I had gotten closer to the waterfall you can see in my first photograph, by controlling the shutter speed I would have been able to illustrate the droplets or movement of the water as it came crashing down from the waterfall.

The shutter speed is especially helpful when you are trying to take pictures of subjects or elements that move and you want to capture them in their natural form. The photograph I have below of the dogs running around shows how  unclear elements can be in a photograph when you don’t have the option to adjust your shutter speed.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 2: Snapping it up!

  1. Organising the paragraphs and images can take a little work – please remind me during lab to help you sort out some of the issues you’re having aligning images and paragraphs in this post, it’s worth getting the hang of it.

Leave a Reply

